On June 14th, 1738 the peasant woman Maria Lory saw tears in the eyes of a statue representing Jesus suffering on the cross. The miracle of these tears was the beginning of the pilgrimage to see the Scourged Saviour in the Meadow in Wies by Steingaden. It led to the construction of a unique house of worship, built by Dominikus Zimmermann between 1745 and 1754 – Rococo in its ultimate perfection adorns the church.
Roughly 1 million guests from around the world visit every year, among them numerous pilgrims. The author Peter Dörfler wrote in the first half of the 20th century: “The Wies is a piece of heaven in this wretched world.”
The Wies begs the visitor to behold, to marvel, to pray, to observe services, to attend concerts in the summer and last but not least the Wies asks visitors to take a moment of quiet reflection in order to find the Lord through the Scourged Saviour.
Visitors who require the use of a wheelchair or are otherwise walking impaired may enter the church through the south entrance which has no steps.
Visitors who require the use of a guide dog may enter with their guide dogs.
8:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.
8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.
Summer and winter opening hours coincide with the changing of daylight savings time.
Admission to the church is free; however, donations in support of the church are always welcome and appreciated.
Guided tours for groups only with advance notice: options are 10:00 am, 11:00 am, 2:30 pm or 3:30 pm provided no services are scheduled at that time.
Duration of the tour: approximately 30 minutes