The early history of Ammergau is largely unknown. The river name Ammer (meaning water) suggests that the Celts were present at times. The excavations that took place years ago on the southern one Döttenbichl carried out in the 1990s sensational finds to light. In this sanctuary or nearby fought in 15 BC. Roman soldiers fought a battle with the local populationAccording to this, the Ammer Valley was not uninhabited as previously thought, but rather inhabited by the Alpine tribe of the Raetians. theme trail This archaeological site deals with the early settlement history of the Ammergau region.
Towards the end of the 9th century, the name Ammergau first appeared as a designation for a region under the rule of the Welfs. The place name “Ambergove” can first be identified around 1150. The Ammergau stands out clearly when Emperor Ludwig the Bavarian in 1330 Ettal Monastery founded and endowed with all its goods from the Konradin heritage. He gives the people of Oberammergau special privileges with inheritance and building rights on their estates.
In 1563 the Ammergau carvers received their own craft regulations from the Abbot of Ettal. While at that time sales largely took place locally, in the 18th century several Oberammergau publishing houses with branches all over Europe emerged. From there, so-called Kraxenträger took over the sale of the goods as peddlers. The carving art became the main occupation.
Another industry is air painting, the one with the Oberammergau native painter Franz Seraph Zwinck (1748–1792) reached its zenith. With him, an artistic personality emerged who perfectly combined representational art and technique. Zwinck thus became a defining figure. Lüftl painter Oberammergau and its surroundings. His works, as well as those of other artists, still give Oberammergau its distinctive character today.
In the 19th century, Oberammergau became world famous with its Passion playsThese plays, performed every ten years since 1634 following a vow made during the plague, have been staged with some minor disruptions due to various wars. From 1680 onwards, the performances were held every ten years.
The Oberammergau Historical Association has further information: